Belgrade fortress Serbia Zindan Gate (April 2020) The Kalemegdan Fortress takes a special place in the heart of Belgrade, with the most beautiful view on the confluence of the Sava and the Danube. More than 2000 years different fortaifications were built on this hill, built by the Celts, Romans, Bulgarians, Byzantines, Serbs, Hungarians, Turks, and Austrians. On this occasion, we will pay attention to the middle of the 15th century, at that time Hungarian Belgrade.
After the death of Despot Stefan Lazarevic, under the contract from Tata, Belgrade was handed over to the Hungarians. As an important boundary to the fort in the south of the country at the eastern (than main) gate were added semi-circular towers – Barbican. The current name for this complex is the Zindan Gate. Zindan in Turkish means dungeon, which the towers certainly were at one time. There are cannon openings on top of the circular towers.
Additional reinforcement of the walls and gates helped the brave defenders defend the city during the siege of 1456. however, a huge military force led by Suleiman the Magnificent occupies Belgrade in 1521. The whole fortification, but also the eastern gate, was given a new Baroque appearance during the reconstruction during the Austrian rule at the beginning of the eighteenth century.
At the Zindan Gate for the first time since 1427. the Serbian flag flutters in 1806. when Belgrade was liberated during the First Serbian Uprising. The Barbican at the eastern gate of the fort (Zindan Gate) today represents one of the most beautiful gates on Kalemegdan. The recent reconstruction of the access bridge makes the east gate even more beautiful.